1. Health
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Luteal Phase


Updated May 19, 2008

Definition: The portion of your menstrual cycle that occurs after ovulation but before the first day of your next menstrual cycle is called the luteal phase. On average, the luteal phase lasts between 10 to 14 days. If the luteal phase is less than 10 days, this may indicate a fertility problem, sometimes referred to as a luteal phase defect.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.